## Business Session II and Awards Ceremony: Minutes Wednesday, September 20th, 2023 10:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

- I. Call to Order Kattlyn Wolf- Called to order at 9:30 am
  - a. Kat provided an overview of the agenda.
- II. W-AAAE Vote on Action Items and introduce new committee members
  - a. Journal of Agricultural Education Editing Managing Board
    - Ryan Anderson provided a report and opened nominations nominating Tyson Sorensen for the open position on the board. John Rayfield Seconded.
    - ii. Kat Wolf Called for a vote, motion passed
  - b. Communications/Member Services Committee
    - i. Kelsey Hall provided the committee report. She encouraged members to update the membership list online. Proposed a survey to members regarding needs for the committee. She also suggested including undergraduate students in the membership communications.
    - ii. Nominated Nathan Smith as vice chair. Seconded by the committee.
    - iii. Kat called for a vote. Motion passed.
  - c. Program Improvement Committee
    - i. Ryan Anderson provided the report. Nicole Ray will transition into the role of poster manager. Theresa Murphrey was recognized for her service. A discussion on the poster process was held. Posters will be due at the beginning of July. The committee recognized the need for members needing to know review
    - ii. Chair: Jessica Tombs, VC- Eryn Pierdolla
    - iii. Kat Wolf called for the vote. Motion passed
  - d. Professional Development Committee
    - Alyssa Schlager gave the committee report. Suggested offering the reception earlier in the evening. Insured good communication with the host site. The reception was well received so it is suggested we have more activities. Award Monies advertised earlier in the spring but still awarded later in the year.
    - ii. A motion was made and seconded to include round table discussions for professional development. Work with the host sties.
    - iii. Scholarship recipients- Chris Rankin, Cameron Rinehart, Leslie Vite, Amielia Miller
    - iv. Kat Wolf called for the vote. Motion passed
  - e. Research Committee

- i. Courtney Gibson provided the report on the research committee.
- ii. Motion to bring forward. Move Paper submission deadline back to the original June 1 deadline. Keeping in mind giving reviewers time as well as the ones that submit.
- iii. Moving to PKP submission site instead of fast track. Same rubric for the first year.
- iv. Complied peoples choice. Will evaluate how the membership
- v. Michael Pate,
- vi. Michelle Burrow
- vii. A motion was made- moving the deadline
  - 1. Becky Lawver was in support
- viii. Kat Wolf called for a vote. From May 1 to June 1. Motion Passed

f.

- III. 2024 Western Region Conference Presentation- Chico State University
  - a. Molly Aschenbrenner presented the invitation. The date is earlier than normal- September 9-11.
  - b. Currently in negotiations with hotels- numbers are a critical factor.
- IV. 2025 National AAAE Conference Announcement
- V. Recognition of 2022-2023 Research, Poster, and Conference Chairs
  - a. Recognized Thresa, Utah State and Tyson Sorensen
- VI. Award Presentations
  - a. Poster Session Awards Theresa Murphrey
    - i. Abstract Reviews
      - Outstanding Research Poster- Sherri Freeman and Jocelyn Juarez
      - 2. Scores- Dayton Wood
      - 3. Peoples Choice- Dayton Wood
      - 4. Design- Nicole Ray, Stacy Vanscoy
      - 5. Research- Texas Tech and ENMU
      - 6. Peoples Choice- Research- Texas Tech
  - b. Research Presentation Awards Tyson Sorenson
    - i. Distinguished Manuscripts
    - ii. Outstanding Presentation
    - iii. Most Impactful Research

iv.

- c. Western Region Awards Jon Ramsey
  - i. Outstanding Early Career Award- Shannon Norris

- ii. Outstanding Teacher Award- Courtney Gibson
- iii. Distinguished agricultural communications educator award- Erica Irlbeck
- iv. Distinguished agricultural teacher educator award- John Rayfield
- v. Distinguished Agricultural Leadership Educator award- Jason Headrick
- vi. Distinguished International Educator award- Courtney Meyers
- vii. Distinguished Researcher Award- Don Edgar

## VII. Adjourn

a. Avery Culbertson moved adjourn, Theresa Murphrey seconded.