National Leadership Academy

About the Leadership Academy

  • The purpose of the Academy is to develop a cadre of AAAE members who are motivated and prepared to provide effective leadership in officer, committee, and special projects roles within the society.
  • A secondary purpose is to increase the interest and readiness of AAAE members for formal leadership roles within academic institutions.

Program Highlights:

  • 2 in person meetings at the national conferences in 2022 and 2023
  • all other sessions are over Zoom


  • Faculty members in years 6-12 in full-time, tenure-track or non-tenure- track positions are eligible to apply.
  • Applicants must have been an active member of AAAE for at least the last three years.
  • Diversity in gender, ethnicity, academic specialization, institutional size and type, and geographical region will be sought.

Additional Information

For additional information, 
please contact Kim Dooley ( or Bobby Torres (

Summary Report about Inaugural Class

The 2019-2020 Inaugural Class of the AAAE National Leadership Academy graduated in May 2020. Read the Summary Report to learn more about this unique program.

Learn more about members of the inaugural class (2019-2020) of the AAAE Leadership Academy.

Class II

Ryan Anderson, Assistant Professor, Texas State University

Chris Clemons, Assistant Professor, Auburn University

Courtney Gibson, Associate Professor, Texas Tech University

Adam Marx, Associate Professor, North Dakota State University

Aaron McKim, Assistant Professor, Michigan State University

Amber Rice, Associate Professor, University of Arizona

Eric Rubenstein, Associate Professor, University of Georgia

Ryan Saucier, Associate Professor, Sam Houston State University

Robert Strong, Associate Professor, Texas A&M University

John Tummons, Director of Undergraduate Studies/Assistant Teaching Professor, University of Missouri

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software